Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Barbie T-shirt October 21, 2011

Filed under: kids' stuff — faithandfamily @ 6:45 pm

In the midst of sewing Halloween costumes, I’m also planning a Barbie birthday party for my daughter. We’re going to make a Barbie cake (a friend is going to help me, because if there is one thing crafty I can’t do, it’s cake decorating), decorate with lots of black, white, and hot pink, and the guests will play Barbies while they’re here. Pretty simple, eh? Well, except for the fact that I’m making a Barbie ball gown for each of the guests. We’re limiting it to 6-ish girls, so it shouldn’t be too bad. And it will delight my daughter, so it’s worth it! I’m using the scraps from the Glenda the Good Witch fabric. Perfect, eh?

I had a hot pink t-shirt in my stash (I stocked up on a few colors when Hobby Lobby had them for $1.50 each), and I decided that a freezer paper stencil shirt was in order for this birthday bash! I found an image online, and this is what we came up with:

I think this shirt needs something more. Any ideas on embellishments to jazz up this shirt? At least I’m going to make a bow (black and white?) and tack it onto Barbie’s ponytail. Anything else that would pretty-up this somewhat plain shirt?

And, if you have never done freezer paper stencils, you must! It’s sooo addicting! We’ve got a Darth Vader shirt in the works too…..

UPDATE: I added the bow and love it! The pictures don’t quite do it justice!

 

5 Responses to “Barbie T-shirt”

  1. angela Says:

    Definately have to put a bow in the hair! A nice rhinestone necklace would ad some glam to it as well! Cute idea, I have yet to make the freezer paper thing, I need to look more into that!

  2. Ooh! Good idea on the necklace! Thanks!

  3. Kelley Says:

    I’ll second the necklace idea! šŸ™‚
    Definitely going to have to try the freezer paper shirt thing … It would be very popular over her!

  4. Just Jaime Says:

    Love the bow. The pink color is perfect!

  5. […] In a previous post I showed you the shirt I made my daughter using freezer paper stencils. […]


Leave a comment