Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

King’s Costume July 2, 2010

Filed under: a handmade Christmas,costumes,kids' stuff — faithandfamily @ 1:02 am

I made this little costume last Christmas for my nephew. We have loads of dress-up stuff at our house, and, at the time, my nephew didn’t have anything like that at home. I noticed he always wanted to dress up here, so I decided to go for “Aunt of the Year” by making him his very own royal costume.

This is one of my children, trying it all on.

For the cape, I used a velvety material I found at Hobby Lobby. (It was a bit pricey, but I think I bought 1 1/2 yds with a 40% off coupon, so that made it not-so-expensive. (Maybe it was only 1 yd….) I bought (maybe?) 1/4 yard of the fleecy material that I used to edge the cape. I used a piece of elastic to gather the cape at the top, and I finished it off with a piece of gold rope.

For the crown, I drew a crown shape on paper and then traced it onto a piece of gold fabric. I used the stiffest interfacing I could find for the inside, and I hot-glued gemstones on the outside. Also, I used Velcro to fasten the back of the crown, just to be sure it would fit him.

Sorry that these directions are a little muddy. If you’re interested in making something similar, you’re probably not going to find much help from these sorry directions, but maybe the pictures will give you inspiration!

And here’s my nephew on Christmas morning, most likely feeling a little embarrassed by his overly-excited aunt. 🙂

 

One Response to “King’s Costume”

  1. […] it would’ve cost $9, except that I had a 40% off coupon. I had leftover fleece material from the cape I made my nephew last Christmas, and I edged the cape with that. (I happened to still have the receipt and noticed that I paid $2 […]


Leave a Reply

