Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Fabric Shopping Bags July 9, 2010

Filed under: around the home,bags — faithandfamily @ 1:09 am

I love using fabric shopping bags for lots of reasons. First of all, they reduce waste. Secondly, they hold a lot more stuff because they’re more sturdy. Thirdly, they just feel good when you carry them.

I made a couple of these bags using this free pattern. I like this one, because it is the same size and shape as the plastic bags in the store. I guess I feel like it might be easier for a cashier to use this bag and hang it on the metal bars to fill it, but it probably really doesn’t matter. Also, this pattern is easy to follow and you can make a bag, probably, in 15 minutes or so.

The Green Bag Lady also has a pattern on her site for a shopping bag. I haven’t made one of hers yet, but she did send me one as part of a giveaway a couple of years ago, and it’s a really good, durable bag that I like to use.

Really, there are lots of patterns and tutorials out there for fabric bags. Do you have a pattern you like to use? If so, link to it here!

 

2 Responses to “Fabric Shopping Bags”

  1. Hilary Says:

    I need to make some of these…in all my free time! 😉

  2. Ha! Yeah, you’ve been pretty busy lately!


Leave a Reply

