Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Hooded Bath Towels for Babies and Kids September 3, 2010

Filed under: around the home,baby stuff,kids' stuff — faithandfamily @ 7:18 pm

A hooded bath towel is so easy to make and can be a nice shower gift or a fun thing to make for your own kids. A personalized bath towel is great for babies (much better than those teeny, thin things they sell in the store), and your child will continue to love it when he gets bigger too.

Here’s how to make one:

You will need:

One bath towel
half a hand towel (Hint: Buy two bath towels and one hand towel, and you will be able to make two hooded towels.)
a coordinating color of thread

Directions:

Here is a picture of the directions I wrote out for myself. (Sorry–I’m not blog-savvy enough to know how to use drawing tools to illustrate my directions. Please bear with me as I update my technology abilities at a geriatric rate.):

Fold your hand towel in half using a “hamburger fold.” Cut the hand towel in half along that fold line. You now have 2 hoods.

The ragged edge of the hand towel will form the top seam of the hood. Take the side that is opposite the ragged side and pin it to the bath towel. You will center it on one of the long sides of the bath towel. I prefer to sew the bath towel directly on top of the hood piece.

Next, you will fold the hood top in half (right sides together, of course!) and sew the top seam of the hood, leaving the ragged edges in the inside. (I’ve found that I needed to sew this seam a couple of times to keep it from unraveling or from leaving a hole in the hood.)

The two towels I’ve pictured came from Target, but I usually  like to buy towels at a store like T.J. Maxx or Ross. I often find high-quality towels there that have beautiful designs on them. If you end up buying more plain-looking towels, you can add embellishments. Though you probably can’t tell from the pictures, the pink towel pictured with the older girl above has a decorative strip sewn on that I made using a piece of fabric that had red and pink hearts on it.

 

Leave a Reply

