Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Native American Costume October 28, 2010

Filed under: costumes,kids' stuff,Recycle/Repurpose — faithandfamily @ 2:49 pm

I am so proud of myself! My daughter has been set for months on dressing up as a Native American for Halloween. I really wanted to sew her a costume but had a hard time finding a good pattern or a good tutorial online. (I only buy patterns when they’re $1, and I hadn’t come across any sales.)  And I just didn’t have confidence that I could “wing it” and make something that I would be proud of.

Well, a month ago or so I was in a thrift store with my kids, and we came across this Pocahontas costume in my daughter’s size. I really didn’t love it, but my daughter did, and it fit her perfectly. I thought, “Oh well. It’s only a couple of dollars, and now I won’t have to stress about sewing a costume.”

But this costume really annoyed me. It wasn’t just the fact that I don’t care much for the Disney character. It was the costume itself, too. That whole fake bare arm with the arm band on it really bugged me. The more I thought about it, the more I really didn’t want my daughter to wear this costume. So….I came up with an idea that turned out to be pretty brilliant: I took this costume apart and used it as a pattern to make my own costume. It took me only a couple of hours to whip up after the kids went to bed, and the kids’ reactions in the morning were priceless! The fabric and ribbon cost me only about $10, thanks to a 40% off coupon at Hobby Lobby. Yay for me!!!!!!!

The moral of the story is: If you love the design of a garment but don’t like the fabric (or it’s too worn), don’t be afraid to take it apart and use it as a pattern.

You just might really love the end result!

 

4 Responses to “Native American Costume”

  1. MMOM Says:

    I am very proud of you! I can tell that Leah loves it! Very cute, modest, appropriate, etc. Good job, Mom! xoxooxoxxo

  2. […] a post I wrote about a year and a half ago, I shared about the American-Indian costume I made my daughter. When I made my daughter’s costume, I bought twice as much fabric as I needed, so I figured […]

  3. […] may remember the American-Indian costumes I’ve made for girls here and here. I made the second one for one of my nieces for her birthday last year. Well, about a week […]

  4. […] for her beloved family.” It all started a few years ago when my oldest daughter really wanted to be an Indian for Halloween. And since that costume went so well, and because my kids and their cousins love to play dress-up, […]


Leave a Reply

