Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Party Dress November 15, 2010

Filed under: girls' clothes — faithandfamily @ 8:51 pm

This weekend I finished up a dress for my brand-new-7-year-old. I used McCall’s M5966, view C, and it was really simple and straight-forward. The pattern called for a flat lace trim for finishing the neckline, but I found this fun ribbon and decided to use it instead. For some reason, the ribbon makes me think: party dress.

 

8 Responses to “Party Dress”

  1. Ana Says:

    Hello, I was looking around for comments on this pattern and came upon your website. Your daughter’s dress turned out lovely! I am in the process of making the same dress and I hope you don’t mind answering a few questions as I am having trouble with the bodice… First of all, did you find it necessary to add a zipper or do you think it can go without one? Second, were you able to make pattern pieces 1 and 2 (front and back bodice) fit? I’m pretty sure I cut them right but still the shoulder on piece two is longer than on piece 1. Anyway, I am interested in knowing what experience you had with this dress. Thank you in advance!

  2. Ana- Thanks for contacting me! Glad to help!

    I did add a zipper. You might be able to get by without one, but I think it will be much easier for your little girl to get the dress on and off if you put in the zipper. Even though it is a loose-fitting dress, I still think she’d have to wriggle it on without a zipper.

    As far as the front bodice pieces go: Are you sure you have the small front bodice piece aligned the right direction? I remember having a hard time figuring out which way was up and down and side to side on that smaller piece. It took a lot of thinking to make sure it was going the right way. Once I had my pieces going the right direction, everything fit together nicely.

    One another note: My girl has to wear a cami under the dress because of the gape in the front. I suppose I could’ve stitched the front together, but I was afraid it would drape funny. We had a matching cami that looks cute with it, so we don’t mind, but that was the only thing that surprised me about the dress. If you have any more questions, I’d be glad to help!

  3. Ana- I just pulled out my pattern pieces, because I realized I was thinking of a different dress when I talked about a smaller piece and a bigger piece.

    Actually…..The front bodice pieces on the left and right are exactly the same, only facing in opposite directions. So, you needed to cut two front bodice pieces and two lining pieces from the same pattern pieces. And then, yes, they should fit perfectly when matched to the back bodice pieces at the shoulder seams. If you need any more help, feel free to ask!

    • Ana Says:

      Thank you so much for your reply!! I started making a muslin today and had trouble with the shoulder seam, basically around the neck. I am pretty sure I cut my pieces right, but the back bodice (2) piece seems to extend farther at the neck than the front piece (1). I am thinking that the most convenient thing would be for me to email you a couple of pictures so you can have a better idea of what I am talking about. Would you mind? If not, please send me a message at acwink@cox.net so I can email you back. Thanks a million!

  4. Ana Says:

    I’m sorry, I also forgot to ask you what kind of fabric you used to line the dress. Thank you and sorry to bug you with all these questions!!

  5. Sure. Feel free to send pictures. You can use addyforrest(at)gmail(dot)com.

    I used the same fabric for the lining.

  6. […] trims and ribbons and found this great ruffled ribbon that I had used on my older daughter’s party dress. I love those ruffled ribbons. So […]


Leave a Reply

