Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Barbie Clothes! December 19, 2010

Filed under: a handmade Christmas,kids' stuff — faithandfamily @ 7:32 pm

Well, here is what I’ve been working on for the past few days:

My daughter really loves her Barbies, but I had a hard time finding any pretty clothes for them in the store, so I decided to search the internet for tutorials, and I hit the jackpot at Craftster. The dresses in this picture were all made from this tutorial at Craftiness is Not Optional. She has several other Barbie tutorials with very clear and easy instructions. I’m hoping to use some of that leftover purple velvet from the Mouse King cape to make one of these ballgowns. Won’t that be fun?

My daughter is a little too young to manage the sewing machine, but she has made a belt out of bias tape and stick-on velcro, necklaces with tiny beads, and a triangular-shaped shawl out of felt. We’re having a ball crafting Barbie clothes together, and the time we’re spending on them will make these clothes infinitely more special than anything I could’ve bought.

 

One Response to “Barbie Clothes!”

  1. […] In a previous post I mentioned that I wanted to make a Barbie ball gown out of some leftover velvet. It proved to be harder than I thought it would be. The little scraps of velvet were really hard to work with. When I would sew a seam, it was as if I were perforating the material, and it immediately tore all along the stitching. I gave up for a while and finally got back to it this past week. […]


Leave a Reply

