Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Boy’s Shirt into Baby Dress December 26, 2010

Filed under: baby stuff,kids' stuff,Recycle/Repurpose — faithandfamily @ 3:26 pm

When I first ran across this tutorial on turning a man’s shirt into a girl’s dress, I knew it was something I was going to want to try sometime. (Isn’t her example so cute?) Well, I was going through my 5-y-o son’s clothes, and I came across this hand-me-down shirt. I knew there was no way he would ever wear it. In fact, when I asked him to put it on, he howled “No way! That’s a girl’s shirt!” I thought the pattern on the fabric was really nice though, and I decided this might be a great shirt to try to turn into a dress. I was a bit afraid that it wasn’t going to work, since I was using a much smaller shirt than the tutorial calls for; however, I was also planning on making it for a 18-month-old, so I figured it would probably work out ok.

Here’s the boy’s shirt. It’s a size 6, and I had to have my daughter pose with it on, because, like I said, my son wouldn’t go near it.

And here’s the front of the refashioned dress:

And here’s the back:

It looks adorable on my baby girl, but you’ll have to take my word for it, because she’s not into dressing up for pictures. The only thing that didn’t work quite as well, using a boy’s shirt instead of a man’s shirt, is that the sleeves were too small to have any extra room for gathering. These sleeves aren’t gathered, but I think they’re still pretty cute.

I’m really happy with the finished product. Son’s happy. Mama’s happy, and Baby Girl is happy too.

 

Leave a Reply

