Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Grandma Bags December 30, 2010

Filed under: a handmade Christmas,kids' stuff — faithandfamily @ 7:37 pm

Every Christmas I try to think of something my kids can make for their grandparents. I think it makes them feel special, contributing with their creativity, since they don’t have money to spend. It’s just not as meaningful if I buy something with my money and say, “This is from you to Grandma.” So…we talk it over and try to think of something meaningful that they can make, with Mommy’s help.

This year, I took some of their best recent art, scanned it into the computer, and printed it on iron-on transfer paper. We then ironed the transfers onto a canvas bag. I thought about making t-shirts but then figured I’d probably have to a make t-shirt for each grandparent from each kid and realized that added up to a lot of t-shirts! So, I decided on the bag instead, because I could get by with putting more pieces of art on one bag and just in case any of the grandparents would rather look at the art than actually wear it….. At any rate, I decided the bags might be more useful.

I had one transfer page left and made my son a t-shirt with his very own art on it. He loved it!

(Somehow I missed taking a picture of the back of the bags. They were cute too….)

 

One Response to “Grandma Bags”

  1. MMOM Says:

    I LOVE my bag! I’ve used it a couple of times already, but the other day when I was in JoAnn Fabrics, the check out lady just raved over it and asked all about it! Hard for me to be humble!!!! Thanks kids!


Leave a Reply

