Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

The Buttercup Bag January 8, 2011

Filed under: bags — faithandfamily @ 8:21 pm

I’ve been planning on making a Buttercup Bag from Made By Rae for a long time, and I finally did it! I love the look of this bag, and I think it’s very generous of Rae to offer this pattern for free on her website. Check out her Flickr photo stream to see all kinds of variations on this bag from hundreds of talented seamstresses.

I had never used a magnetic snap before, and it wasn’t hard at all. I also added some piping to accent the bag, which wasn’t in Rae’s pattern. I had thought about taking pictures and writing a tutorial on making piping, but I got too carried away with sewing and didn’t bother to take pix. Maybe I can do that another time! Feel free to ask me questions if you’re a newbie and would like some tips on making a bag of your own!

Now I’ve just got to figure out whether this is for me or for a gift…..

 

2 Responses to “The Buttercup Bag”

  1. MMOM Says:

    Love the fabric and the piping! Very cute!

  2. […] made another Buttercup Bag recently. Actually, my 7-year-old wanted to “sew,” and she wanted to make a Buttercup […]


Leave a Reply

