Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Buttercup Bag #3 January 29, 2011

Filed under: bags — faithandfamily @ 8:41 pm

I finished this Buttercup Bag this weekend, and I love it. I found the fabric for the outside, actually, at our Habitat for Humanity ReStore. They had lots of fabric samples that must’ve been given by an upholstery store or something. The square of fabric was a bit smaller than a fat quarter, and I used nearly every inch of the fabric to squeeze the pattern in. I bought the fabric for 50-cents. Yay!

I absolutely love the fat quarter I used for the lining. A few years ago I was in a quilt shop with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law, and my m-i-l told us both to pick a fat quarter or two, as I recall. I picked this one, and I’ve always adored it, but I never had a good idea about what to do with it. I finally found the perfect place for it.

I was making this bag with a friend in mind, but once it was finished, I wasn’t sure I could part with it. I would be happy to give it to someone who would love it as much as I do, but what if she didn’t? With some projects, you just can’t take that chance, I guess, and you have to keep them so that you can be sure they will be loved.

 

One Response to “Buttercup Bag #3”

  1. Julie Says:

    This is so cute, Addy! And how resourceful you are!


Leave a Reply

