Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

My Free Blue Dress June 26, 2011

Filed under: women's clothes — faithandfamily @ 5:56 pm

A month or so ago I stopped by my neighbor’s house for something-or-other, and one of her college-aged daughters was wearing a striking navy blue dress. I exclaimed over how much I loved it, and then I found out that her mom had made it for her. I commented that I would need to borrow that pattern someday. Well….shortly later, one of the daughters came over with a pattern in her hand and a bundle of blue knit fabric. Apparently, the mom had bought enough fabric to make another dress, this time in a brighter blue, but the daughter it was intended for wasn’t sure how she felt about a bright blue dress. So, they offered it to me. I worked on it this week, and here is the result.

I love it. The pattern is Vogue 1027. Once I figured out the pattern, it was pretty easy to put together. I’m a beginner when it comes to knits, so trying to double fold some of the edges was challenging. (You can’t just iron knits crisply like you can a cotton fabric.)  And cutting it out was a bit slippery. The construction of the belt is really different, so I had to read the pattern a couple of times to figure out what was going on. Once I understood, it was no big deal. I’d recommend this pattern, but not to a beginner, because of the nature of knit fabrics and because of some of the out-of-the-norm construction directions. It’s a comfy dress, and I’m happy to add it to my summer wardrobe!

 

Leave a Reply

