Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

My Totally Copied Blouse August 14, 2011

Filed under: women's clothes — faithandfamily @ 1:20 am

I follow several sewing blogs, and normally when I see something I like, I use the example as a starting point and then I make the project my own by using different fabrics, embellishments, or whatever. Well….this time I totally, 100% copied one of my favorite seamstresses, Anna from Noodlehead.

Back in June (during a .99 pattern sale at Hobby Lobby) I was browsing the Simplicity patterns book, and I came across #2448. When I saw it, I thought, “Hey, I think this is the pattern for that gorgeous blouse Anna made a while back!” So, I bought the pattern, came home and checked her blog, and it was the same one! Yay for me! Then I went on a search to find the perfect fabric. But nothing quite compared to the gorgeous Anna Maria Horner voile that Anna of Noodlehead had used. So, finally, I decided that I just had to copy Anna and used the same fabric. So….I bought 2 yards of Little Folks voile- Baby Bouquet.

I bought it for $11/yard (more than I usually spend on fabric, but it was so worth it, especially since I had enough fabric left over to make my daughter a blouse! I’ll, hopefully, post about that tomorrow!) This fabric is normally $15/yard, but I got my good deal from an Etsy shop called Lily Rose. So, you might want to check them out sometime. Well, without further ado, here is the blouse on me!

Now, about the pattern: I would not recommend it to a beginner. I had a bunch of headaches over this pattern. The yoke part is particularly frustrating. (Hint, when you are putting on the first yoke piece, instead of curving with the neckline on the main shirt pieces, the necklinee is going to curve in the opposite direction (up instead of down), making the facing of the collar part to stand up. Pay attention to the notches, and if they aren’t lining up, you don’t have your pieces on correctly.

And, a note on voile: I love it! I think I’m going to make a habit out of sewing blouses with voile!

 

2 Responses to “My Totally Copied Blouse”

  1. […] had enough Little Folks Voile-Baby Bouquet fabric leftover from my blouse to make my daughter a pretty blouse. I used Simplicy 2238, view B. I just love how this turned […]

  2. MMOM Says:

    This is so pretty and feminine, and of course, I totally recognize that sleeve!!!!! Nice job! wow! Love it!


Leave a Reply

