Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Glenda the Good Witch October 4, 2011

Filed under: costumes,kids' stuff — faithandfamily @ 10:38 pm

In our house, we make a big deal out of preparing Halloween/ Fall Festival costumes each fall. My kids LOOOOVVVEEE dressing up, and this time of the year when there are parties and a night devoted to costumes is one of their favorite times of the year.

I have fond memories of my mom using her creativity to make us really fun costumes from stuff lying around the house. And since I think creating costumes is 75% of the fun, I try my best to avoid store-bought costumes and try, instead, to make as many of our costumes as possible. The ones I’ve made so far have been real family treasures. And I try to make my kids whatever costumes they want, which sometimes leaves me scratching my head for a while.

Well……we’ve decided this year that the whole family will dress up in The Wizard of Oz theme. I get to be Dorothy (yay!), I scored a really great tin man costume at a consignment sale (store-bought, I know! But a really good one!) for my son, my younger daughter will be the lion, my husband will be the scarecrow, and my older daughter will be Glenda.

Well…..whenever I had looked at those costume patterns in the pattern books, I was always frightened by them. They look so hard and detailed. But….I decided to take the plunge and I bought the Glenda pattern for my daughter. I used Simplicity 4139. Also, I had never sewn with poly-satin or with tulle before, so I was afraid of those too. However, the pattern was really easy to work with, the materials were no-big-deal, and the dress turned out marvelously!

Now…you might notice that our Glenda dress looks a little different from the one pictured on the pattern. First of all, it’s supposed to be a peachy color, but my daughter insisted on pink. No problem! Second, the pattern called for a lot of applique stars and butterflies and flowers, but my daughter did not want those details on it. Also, we decided not to make the tall hat. My daughter did not like it at all. So, she’s going to wear a regular tiara instead. We do have a star wand ready to go. I found it at Target on the $1 aisle.

Also the neckline was a little low, so I added a scrap of fabric in the front to bring it up a bit and make it more appropriate.

So….this dress does not look like a replica of Glenda’s dress, by any means, but it will do the trick. And with the rest of us in the Wizard of Oz theme, hopefully it won’t be too hard to figure out who she is. But I think the thing I like most about this dress is that it will work again and again for any kind of princess-themed costume. I like it that we made it different, because I think it’s more flexible now.

I’ll post more pictures of us all dressed up when the time rolls around. Are you making Halloween costumes? If so, what are you working on?

 

4 Responses to “Glenda the Good Witch”

  1. […] bad. And it will delight my daughter, so it’s worth it! I’m using the scraps from the Glenda the Good Witch fabric. Perfect, […]

  2. […] previous posts I showed you the Glenda costume I made my daughter and the Dorothy costume I made myself. The tin man costume was a great find on […]

  3. […] Optional for the great dress tutorial. Her Barbie tutorials are fabulous! I used fabric scraps from the Glenda dress I made my daughter for Halloween. Thrifty, […]

  4. […] Click here to read about the princess dress. I made it last year for my then-7-y-o, and I just temporarily hemmed it up about 10 inches this year, because my 3 y-o REALLY wanted to wear it. […]


Leave a Reply

