Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

The Wizard of Oz Family Costumes October 30, 2011

Filed under: costumes — faithandfamily @ 11:15 pm

Our family dressed up in the Wizard of Oz theme for our church’s Fall Festival on Friday night. We had such a great time planning and preparing these costumes!

In previous posts I showed you the Glenda costume I made my daughter and the Dorothy costume I made myself. The tin man costume was a great find on half-price day at a consignment sale.

I felt like my husband’s scarecrow costume came together really well. We used borrowed overalls and a shirt from his closet. I duct-taped raffia into his sleeves and we stuffed it into his pockets so that it was spilling out. The brown paint on his nose really helped the look too. Here’s how I made his hat:

I cut 4 triangles out of black felt with a base of 9 inches and a height of 14 inches. I sewed the 14″ sides of the triangles together to make a cone shape, and voila! I tied a piece of raffia to the hat to finish it off. It was really cute. And, by the way, I think those dimensions are kind of a one-size-fits all. The hat fit my husband, myself, and my 6-year-old looked cute in it too.

And my poor 2-year-old….I didn’t think she’d have an opinion about her costume this year, but as we were getting ready, she kept saying “No lion! I princess!” She had a brown sweat suit, and I had bought lion ears and a tail from Target. I had intended on painting a nose and whiskers on her face, but she really wasn’t interested, so I didn’t push it. My sweet older daughter let her hold onto her star wand for most of the evening to make her feel more princess-y.

We had a great time working together as a family, and my kids (and husband too!) were proud of my efforts, and that made it all worth it for me.

 

4 Responses to “The Wizard of Oz Family Costumes”

  1. Deborah Says:

    Adorable & imaginative! Looks like even the lion had fun 🙂

  2. Terrie Says:

    Fabulous! I am so jealous of your creativity!

  3. Eileen Says:

    Everyone looks like they fit the part just perfectly! Good job!

  4. Haha, so cute! I came across your picture looking for something else, and just had to comment. My family and I went as the very same costumes last year (2012), me as Dorothy, husband as Scarecrow, oldest son as Tinman, Daughter as Glinda, and our youngest (son) as the Lion. 🙂 http://i873.photobucket.com/albums/ab295/Mieal_Deneb/Costumes/Halloween01_zps3627e45e.jpg


Leave a Reply

