Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Zippered pouches December 10, 2011

Filed under: a handmade Christmas,bags — faithandfamily @ 9:35 pm

I am in a homemade-gifts-groove right now. Usually during the Christmas season I don’t feel like I have time for homemade gifts, but this year I feel like I can squeeze it in, and I have the motivation to do it.

I finished a few zippered clutches this week. The top one is for my sister-in-law Melanie and will also have an initial necklace inside it that I bought from Etsy. So cute! The bottom one will go in my daughter’s stocking since she told me, “I’ve always wanted a clutch made out of that fabric!” Done! 🙂

I used a combination of Anna’s zippered clutch tutorial and this tutorial from Skip to My Lou on making any type of zippered pouch.

I like Anna’s tutorial for the size, the gathered look, and the card holder for the inside. The thing I don’t like about Anna’s tutorial is the instructions to make end tabs on the zipper. To me, that makes the construction so much more difficult. The Skip to My Lou tutorial makes the zipper instructions super-easy.

Neither tutorial explains how to make the clutch into a wristlet, but you can see that there are at least a couple ways to do it. In the first one, I made the wristlet detachable. In the second one, it’s sewn in.

These pouches are a great way to use up scraps, don’t take a lot of time to make, and I think will make a great gift!

 

Leave a Reply

