Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Quilt Top for Kelsie December 20, 2011

Filed under: quilts — faithandfamily @ 4:31 pm

My husband’s aunt is an avid quilter, and when we saw her at Thanksgiving, she gave me a bag full of fabric that she no longer wanted. I saw a bunch of browns and pinks that looked like they belong to the same fabric collection, and I knew I just HAD to make a quilt out of them soon. So…this week I pieced together a quilt top, and I’m going to make the quilt for my 1-year-old niece, Kelsie Marie. I’m planning on getting a new sewing machine in the next few months–one that will do free-motion quilting–so I’m going to wait to put this quilt together until I can machine-quilt it myself. I’m looking forward to taking this top to my brother at Christmas, though, so that he can see what’s in the works! (Click on the picture to see a close-up of the quilt.)

I used a strip-piecing method based on the “Quilt in a Day” books. I started with 4 1/2 inch center blocks and cut strips of fabric that were 2 1/2 inches wide and just went ’round and ’round the blocks, picking up a random piece each time. I love how it turned out!

 

6 Responses to “Quilt Top for Kelsie”

  1. a. judy Says:

    love your quilt.”Log cabin” is my favorite to piece. the red is wonderful. i’m sure this quilt will be well-loved. a. judy

  2. Aunt Judy– I used your idea for the 4″ middle and 12″ squares. You inspired me! 🙂

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    It amazes me how you seem to do so much with just pieces of this and that. I am not very creative with “things,” and I always like seeing the beautiful things made by those who are. Thank you for sharing. Have a Merry Christmas!

  4. Eileen Says:

    That’s beautiful–those fabrics all look so pretty together!

  5. […] in my sewing class. I practiced during the class, and then I came home and went right to work on this quilt. The teacher advised lots of practice first, but I knew that this quilt would be a great way to […]


Leave a Reply

