Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

More Zippered Wristlets January 1, 2012

Filed under: bags — faithandfamily @ 1:47 pm

Well, I’ll admit it: When I find a tutorial I really like, that doesn’t use a lot of fabric, that other people seem to really like too, I tend to run it into the ground. Such is the case with these zippered wristlets:

I’ve mentioned it before, but in case this is the first post you’ve seen me write about these wristlets, I’ll tell you which tutorials I use. First, I use Anna’s Gathered Clutch tutorial for cutting out the pieces and gathering the front. I also like to use her idea for the card holders. I ignore her instructions about the zipper altogether. Next, I go to Skip to My Lou’s tutorial on making a lined zippered pouch, and I use her easy method for sewing the pieces together, including the zipper.

These wristlets seem to be all the rage with the college girls near us. I’ve made these for a few friends. The one at the top was my very favorite, made with some precious scraps of soft corduroy that I loved, so I knew that one had to go to my dear sister-in-law, Hilary. The second one is for my friend Allison, who is visiting me this week. And the last one I think I’m going to give to our college-aged babysitter, who is such a gem.

 

3 Responses to “More Zippered Wristlets”

  1. […] week I made her a little zippered pouch to coordinate with her purse. It’s going in the mail today, along with Kelsie’s […]

  2. Terrie Says:

    I finally tried these! Wonderful, quick little project–and the zipper? They have always frustrated me, but not with this tutorial–they were a breeze. Made one to give away and one to keep. I am going to share this with our ladies sewing group at church–know they will love it!

  3. Oh yay! I’m so glad! I’d love to see a picture!


Leave a Reply

