Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Kelsie’s Quilt January 30, 2012

Filed under: quilts,Uncategorized — faithandfamily @ 4:18 pm

This week I finished my first free-motion quilt! I learned how to free-motion last week in my sewing class. I practiced during the class, and then I came home and went right to work on this quilt. The teacher advised lots of practice first, but I knew that this quilt would be a great way to practice, and I think it turned out great!

I didn’t use any particular free-motion pattern. I just kind of wandered around, doing swirls and loops.

I like to use sheets for the backs of my quilts, because you just can’t beat the fabric price per yard. I found this cozy Laura Ashley flannel sheet at Ross on sale.I don’t think I could’ve found anything more perfect for this quilt. And the best part is that I have the whole fitted sheet and part of the flat sheet leftover for another project.

I made a matching pillow cover too, out of the flannel backing fabric, so that little Kelsie will have a matching pillow, just her size, to go with her quilt.

I can’t wait to put these in the mail this week. I’ve got something I need to make my mom, to slip in the package, before I mail it, and hopefully I’ll get that done soon!

(By the way, Terrie, I took your fabulous advice and taped the backing to the floor when I was putting all the layers together. Wow! It worked beautifully!)

 

3 Responses to “Kelsie’s Quilt”

  1. […] This week I made her a little zippered pouch to coordinate with her purse. It’s going in the mail today, along with Kelsie’s quilt. […]

  2. Terrie Says:

    Kelsie’s quilt is adorable! You’ve made me want to try free-motion quilting–I bet that new machine made it a breeze!

  3. You should! I do love my new machine! Adam sent me a picture this morning of her with her quilt, and it made my day!


Leave a Reply

