Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

American-Indian Costume #2 February 21, 2012

Filed under: costumes — faithandfamily @ 5:26 pm

In a post I wrote about a year and a half ago, I shared about the American-Indian costume I made my daughter. When I made my daughter’s costume, I bought twice as much fabric as I needed, so I figured that, at some point, I’d make another one. A lady at church asked me several months ago if I could use some fringe trim, and I told her I’d love to have it to make my niece, Hanna, a costume. I knew I couldn’t pull it off in time for Christmas, so my new goal was to make it in time for her 4th birthday, which is in late May. I bought some ribbon trim the last time I was in JoAnn’s, and I finished the costume last night.

I’ll add a few feathers that she can tuck into her hair, a bow and arrow set from Amazon, and this beautiful picture book about Sacagawea. Hopefully it will be a fun birthday gift!

 

4 Responses to “American-Indian Costume #2”

  1. Eric Cook Says:

    My daughter is 2 years old and I want to make something like this for her. Is there anyway that you could share this pattern with me so I could make her one? I have looked all over and have not found one I liked. I realize I would have to adjust for her size. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. If you want, send me your mailing address to addyforrest(at)gmail(dot)com, and I’ll try to trace the pieces and stick them in the mail for you.

  3. […] may remember the American-Indian costumes I’ve made for girls here and here. I made the second one for one of my nieces for her birthday last year. Well, about a week ago, her […]

  4. […] And since that costume went so well, and because my kids and their cousins love to play dress-up, last year for my niece’s birthday, I made her a similar costume. And then this past October, one of my nephews said, “Will you please make me an Indian […]


Leave a Reply

