Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Top Bunk Organizer #2 March 2, 2012

Filed under: kids' stuff — faithandfamily @ 8:31 pm

When I made my daughter a top bunk organizer, my son immediately wanted one too. I figured I’d just use some fabric from my stash, but last week I discovered Star Wars fabric at JoAnn Fabrics and knew it would make my son’s day to have something made out of it, so I bought a yard. (This project used about half of it.)

This is a quick, less-than-an-hour-from-start-to-finish kind of project. My son is thrilled to have a special spot for his pirate diary, a pen, and a book to read.

I took a few pictures of the front and back, opened up, in case the construction of it seems confusing. For this organizer, I cut two pieces of fabric and a piece of batting 15 1/2″ x 15 1/2″. (You’ll need to measure your own child’s bed railing to determine your dimensions.) I sewed them together, right sides together, turned it right side out and top-stitched the whole thing. Then I wrapped it around the railing to determine where the velcro should go, and I sewed that on. Then I folded up the bottom to make the pockets, and it was done. Let me know if you have any questions about making your own!

 

One Response to “Top Bunk Organizer #2”

  1. […] friend read my posts about the bunk bed organizers (here and here) and wants to make one for her son, but she emailed me saying, “I don’t know […]


Leave a Reply

