Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Simplicity 2892 April 3, 2012

Filed under: women's clothes — faithandfamily @ 8:34 pm

I finished up a blouse this afternoon. It’s Simplicity 2892 view D. The fabric is Anna Maria Horner’s Baby Bouquet Dusk from her Little Folks Voile line.I love the fabric and I am really happy with how the blouse turned out!

And, of course, I didn’t forget to stick a label inside. (In hind’s sight, I should’ve put it a little lower, but hey! This was my first label!)

 

12 Responses to “Simplicity 2892”

  1. Terrie Says:

    Love it! Your talent is amazing!

  2. a. judy Says:

    Beautifu job, Addy! Love the labels too.

  3. Sueanne Fife Says:

    I just cut this blouse out today and I’m about to start the fun part right now ! Yours turned out beautifully. I’m using a modern cotton print I picked up at Hobby Lobby. This will be my first sewing project in 15 years, so here goes nothing !

  4. Thanks for sharing, Sueanne! I’d love to see a photo of the finished product! I hope it goes well for you!

    • Suan Fife Says:

      I will, Addy. I’m having some trouble setting in the yoke. I know it’s easy, but my brain just isn’t working. Also, I cannot figure out where the shoulders of the bodice attach to the yoke. I’m going to take it to a sewing store today and see if they can help me. It’s just about done, other than that. I know it’s easy ( I can tell ), but I haven’t sewn in so long !

  5. Glad you have a sewing store where you can get some help. The yoke front and back is one big circle, and you won’t see the shoulders form until you sew the lining on. There are a lot of ruffles that may be hiding your notches–just make sure you’re lining up your notches and you should be fine! I did have some trouble when I was sewing the lining on. It was just way too big for me to ease it in. I ended up folding over a section that I couldn’t seem to ease in, but it’s not noticeable and worked out just fine.

  6. Suan Fife Says:

    I had to fold the lining just a bit also. I tried to ease it in, but it was just too much and I’m using 100 % cotton, so no give. I’m almost through. The lady at the sewing machine store straightened me right out and now I only need to hand sew the the facing down and hem my garment. I’m so excited ! I’ll try to post a picture for you this weekend.
    The lady at the sewing machine store was so nice. I ended up signing up for a sewing lesson
    on next Tuesday. I really need something like that.
    The next top I’m making for myself will be Simplicity 1806, view E. And for my daughter ( I’ll
    do one of these for my lesson on Tuesday since they are slightly more difficult ) will be either Simplicity 3750 or 4127. Whichever
    one she wants first.
    Take care ! And thanks so much for your advice and comments.

  7. Yay for you! I’ll look forward to seeing your picture! Did you see the free Sorbetto pattern I posted about yesterday? It’s really easy!

  8. Suan Fife Says:

    Here is my picture. Hopefully !

    • Suan Fife Says:

      http://imgur.com/CBlei

      OK, I just had my 19 yr. old son help me. He assures me that if you click on the link you’ll be able to see the picture of my top. Sure wish I was a techie ! Would make my life much easier !

  9. Oh, I love it!!!!! Super cute! Great choice in fabric! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

