Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

The Sorbetto Top April 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized,women's clothes — faithandfamily @ 12:51 am

I recently made two tops using the easy, free pattern for the Sorbetto top. If you are afraid of sewing clothing, then you really must try this top, because it’s super-easy, and you just can’t go wrong, as long as you follow a few tips I learned from some seamstresses who made it before I did.

(I used an embroidered cotton I found at JoAnn’s for the white top, and the second one is an Anna Maria Horner Little Folks Voile. I used packaged bias tape for the white top and made my own with the second top.)

Colette’s pattern is well-written and easy to follow, even if you’re a beginner. The pattern is designed to be very tailored, and I like that. When I measured myself, I figured I needed to cut out a size 2. (Thanks for the flattery, Colette! ;)) That size ended up being perfect. A few reviewers, however, had mentioned that the darts are too high, so I ended up using the largest size darts, which was size 18. Other reviewers mentioned that they wanted the blouse to be longer, so I cut out a size 12 in length, but I actually wish I would’ve just cut out the 18 in the length as well.

And, of course, I didn’t forget to sew an adorable label into each of my new blouses.

What are you waiting for? Go find some cute fabric and start printing the Sorbetto pattern! 🙂

 

2 Responses to “The Sorbetto Top”

  1. Suan Fife Says:

    I definitely want that pattern ! It’s just so cute and just the style I seem to be into this Spring. And your’s turned out beautifully ! And it does look so easy. Was the downloading hard ? Did you print it out on printer paper, then tape it all together ? Thanks for the free pattern information !

  2. The downloading was not hard, and yes, I printed out a million pieces of paper and then taped them together. It’s really easy to figure out how they go together, though.


Leave a Reply

