Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Zig-Zag Quilt June 29, 2012

Filed under: quilts — faithandfamily @ 12:05 pm

Summer, so far, has been full of vacationing and organizing, and I haven’t been sewing as much, but I did finish something yesterday that I’m pretty proud of.

I used the zigzag quilt tutorial found here. This is a baby quilt for my friend Katrina, who is expecting her first. It’s actually a lap-sized quilt rather than a crib-size. The tutorial makes a lap-sized quilt, and I thought about making it smaller but decided to go ahead and make it full-sized so that, hopefully, my friend’s child can use the quilt even as he/she grows up.

When I asked Katrina about the colors of her nursery, she told me that they won’t find out the gender of the baby before birth, and she is decorating with brown, green, and yellow, with accents in red, orange, and turquoise. So, it was pretty easy to use those colors to make a beautiful color scheme.

I was fabric shopping with my friend Kelley, and the first three fabrics I chose had some kind of circle on them. Kelley said something like, “You’re either going to need to stop picking circles, or else just stick with the circle theme for all your fabrics.” I thought that was great advice, and I decided to stick with the circle theme. I don’t know if you can tell from the picture, but all the fabrics have some kind of circle on them.

I used a Kona white for the white zigzags, and I used a nice soft sheet from Target for the backing. I did free-motion quilting, and I just love how it turned out!

 

5 Responses to “Zig-Zag Quilt”

  1. Kelley Says:

    Cannot say enough how much I love this!! Your friend is going to adore it … And I do believe I am going to have to make use of the sincerest form of flattery and copy you. 🙂

  2. Terrie Says:

    Absolutely love it! You did a great job! I have been looking at that pattern for some time now, wondering if I should give it a shot, and now I think I will. Your friend will definitely love it. And making it lap size was a good move too! I love it when a baby quilt is used long as the baby grows!

  3. aunt judy Says:

    I love it even more now that it’s quilted! You did such a great job on this. I’m sure your friend will love it. She’ll get so much more use out of it that it’s a lap quilt, too. Love, aunt Judy

  4. MMOM Says:

    I finally clicked on the link for the instructions. Have to make one! I think it would make a lovely baby gift, as you did for Katrina! You have come so far, Addy! Find another project to teach me, ok? Love you! MMOMx0x0

  5. […] I made Katrina’s baby quilt a few months ago, it required sewing strips together, which were then cut into squares. After I cut […]


Leave a Reply

