Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Mini Quilt August 21, 2012

Filed under: quilts — faithandfamily @ 1:21 am

When I made Katrina’s baby quilt a few months ago, it required sewing strips together, which were then cut into squares. After I cut all the squares from the strips, there were little scraps left over, and I had the idea of saving them and letting my 8-year-old piece them together to make her own first quilt. It ended up being a really special project!

My 8-y-o made it for her 3-y-o sister (and the little sister’s special teddy bear.) Little Sister was so excited about the quilt and has been lovingly using it since she received it. Big Sister was proud of her work, and she and I enjoyed some creative time together when she made it. Often, the sewing machine is where I spend some alone time, but it was nice to spend time at the sewing machine with my daughter.

I think this quilt will be treasured by all of us for a very long time.

 

4 Responses to “Mini Quilt”

  1. Eileen Says:

    This is so cute–I love it!

  2. Heather Says:

    Oh my goodness, go big sister! The quilt looks great 🙂

  3. Kelley Says:

    Nice work, Miss L!! 🙂

  4. aunt judy Says:

    The quilt is beautiful. All the love sewn into that quilt makes it special for all of you!


Leave a Reply

