Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

American-Indian Costume for Boys October 12, 2012

Filed under: costumes — faithandfamily @ 2:34 pm

You may remember the American-Indian costumes I’ve made for girls here and here. I made the second one for one of my nieces for her birthday last year. Well, about a week ago, her almost-8-year-old brother was at my house, with his birthday about 10 days away, and he said, “Aunt Addy, I’d like an Indian costume for my birthday.” So I got busy right away, looking for ideas online and planning the costume. I am so happy with how it turned out. In fact, my son, who is the same age as my nephew, was so impressed that he asked me to make him one for Halloween. So, I’ve already got another one in the works. Here are some pictures, and then I’ll give some details about how I made it:

For the tunic, I traced the basic shape of an oxford shirt that fits my son well. I wanted the tunic to be blousy and wide, so that it would fit over his head and fit loosely, so I figured that an oxford, dress-type shirt had the kind of fit I was looking for. I drew the neck shape myself, trying to make it wide enough to fit over his head easily. I had to fit it over my son’s head a few times and cut a bit more until I got it just right. I also made a facing for the inside to finish off the neck edge. I used fringe and ribbon to dress up the tunic front, and I used fringe around the sleeves.

For the pants, I used Dana’s basic boy pants tutorial and I traced a pair of pajama pants that fit my son well. I added fringe to the outside pants seam.

For the headband, I just used a scrap piece of the ribbon trim and added a piece of elastic to the back so that it will fit well, and then I just stuck a feather in the back.

I can’t wait to give it to my nephew! I think he’ll be pleased!

 

 

 

7 Responses to “American-Indian Costume for Boys”

  1. Margaret Diez Says:

    This is awesome. I know that that if I show this to Dylan, he’s going to want one!

  2. If you decide to make one, I’ll help you! 🙂

  3. a judy Says:

    the Indian costume looks great! Nice job, Addy:)

  4. I did it! Dylan is very excited. I don’t know why I was so intimidated by trying to sew clothing. The tip about using existing clothing to make the pattern helped a lot.

  5. You are so awesome, Margaret! I love how you just keeping trying and conquering new things. Can’t wait to see it! I’m still working on Daniel’s!

  6. […] Click here to read about the Indian costume. […]

  7. […] please make me an Indian costume for my birthday?” So, Aunt Addy did her best and managed to draft a pattern and come up with a boy’s American-Indian costume. And then when my son saw it, he wanted one too, so he got a matching one. And then, most recently, […]


Leave a Reply

