Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Elisa’s Quilt March 26, 2013

Filed under: quilts — faithandfamily @ 8:02 pm

A good friend of mine named Elisa lost her dad unexpectedly last April. In the months following the tragedy, I kept trying to think of ways to help my grieving friend. One thing I mentioned was that I would be glad to make her something with some of her dad’s clothes–a blanket or scarf–something that she could wrap around her as if to wrap his arms around her. Her mom had seen a denim quilt I had made several years back and decided that might be a good thing for me to make, so last Christmas she secretly brought me a bag full of Elisa’s dad’s jeans. I’ve spent the last few months working on this lap-sized quilt and was so relieved to finally finish it and give it to my friend for her birthday. Happy birthday, Elisa! I pray that this quilt will always remind you of your dad’s love and also of our family’s love for you!

P1050333IMG_0180

 

One Response to “Elisa’s Quilt”

  1. Terrie Says:

    What an amazing gift for Elisa! I know she will treasure it always. You did a fabulous job on it!


Leave a Reply

