Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Yard So Beautiful May 22, 2013

Filed under: around the home — faithandfamily @ 6:57 pm

 

Well, I haven’t been sewing lately, so this blog has been pretty quiet for a while. I have so many sewing projects on my “to do” list that I can’t wait to tackle, but in the meantime I’ve been focusing on more important things like our home school year, vacationing, playing with the kids, and cleaning out places in our house that have been needing the attention. I have high hopes of lots of sewing time this summer, though.

In the midst of all that, my husband recently used his creative skills in our back yard, and since this blog celebrates handmade goodness, I figured it’d be appropriate to post about his handmade project that has really improved our backyard.

 

Image

 

We have a creek back there and lots of trees, and we starting brainstorming about how to make that area more pleasant. The idea of a patio and fire pit sprouted, and then I started pinning all kinds of images to a Pinterest board. We sketched out what we’d like to do, and then my husband started reading articles and Youtube videos so that he’d do it right. The project involved digging out soil, putting in some drainage (since we have natural springs under our yard), filling it in with lots of crushed rock and sand, leveling it, laying the pavers and then filling the cracks with a bonding sand. Our pavers came from Home Depot, and there were lots of pamphlets and instructions there, too. It was a lot of hard work, but my husband enjoyed it and is really proud of what he was able to accomplish.

 

 

One Response to “Yard So Beautiful”

  1. aunt judy Says:

    it is beautiful!!


Leave a Reply

