Life Sew Beautiful

my little handmade corner of the world

Adam’s Quilt August 17, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — faithandfamily @ 7:36 pm

I recently finished a quilt for my brother Adam. When I told him last Christmas that I was planning on making him a quilt, he already had an idea in his head of what type of quilt he would most like. He sent me this picture from the internet for inspiration:

Image

He told me that he wanted it to look like something you would find in a country lodge or cabin, and he wanted it to have appliqued animals on it. I had never done applique before, so I was a bit intimidated, but I was willing to give it a try. First I shopped for cute plaids, then I did an internet search to look for some applique shapes that I could use on the quilt. I used this tutorial from the internet to learn how to do machine applique. It was pretty easy and fun. In the square with the log cabin on it, I also used a technique called paper piecing to to make the log cabin. I had done paper piecing years ago, but I watched this youtube video to refresh my memory on how to do it.

And here is the finished quilt:

Image

I’m very happy with it, and, if I do say so myself, I think it’s even cuter than the quilt that I used for inspiration!

Sweet dreams under your new quilt, little brother!

 

 

3 Responses to “Adam’s Quilt”

  1. Nice! I’d love to learn to quilt someday. My grandma gave me her mother’s quilting pieces (pieced, not quilted yet), and I’d like to be able to do something with them someday. Maybe when grad school’s done. Also, if you’re ever in the Atlanta area (on the south side) you should check out http://www.ascarletthread.com/ They claim to be the largest quilt shop in GA. It’s run by really nice Christian ladies-at least I know where to go if I ever get a chance to learn =)

  2. Terrie Says:

    What a beautiful job you did! I know he was thrilled!

  3. Kathy Says:

    I love the quilt….It does look like it belongs in a cabin. Or on one of my g’sons beds.


Leave a comment